Nurse talks D&C after 1st U/S. BUT - 2nd U/S...Heartbeat

Have you had a misdiagosed miscarriage? Please share your stories here.

Nurse talks D&C after 1st U/S. BUT - 2nd U/S...Heartbeat

Postby HappyHusband » Thu Sep 04, 2008 1:21 pm

Introduction
Although our story has already resolved itself, I want to echo the many stories that I've read here in the past week. In a nutshell, we were basically told that we were experiencing a blighted ovum, which has since been proven incorrect. I'm not very good with all the acronyms everyone uses here, so please bear with my lack of proper terminology.

Difficulting getting pregnant...
We had been trying for nearly two years to get pregnant. We have gone through much of the typical stuff. Homeopathic approach to improving sperm counts (male factor in our case ~2-3 Million post-wash count). Several cycles of IUI w/ no drugs. Clomid for a few additional IUI cycles. Then we finally "graduated" to IVF. On the first IVF cycle, not enough eggs were produced so they reverted that cycle to an IUI. The nurses recommended one IUI 12 hours after hCG trigger.
I did some research and did not feel comfortable with that approach. Most doctors that I had read, recommend one at 36 hours or so. So we demanded a second IUI 24 hours later (so we did two, one at 12 hours one at 36 hours...7/29 and 7/30). We were taking low doses of hCG every few days after the IUI. I wasn't sure why we were to do this, but apparently it was to increase progesterone which aids in the early pregnancy. We took these until 8/6.

Finally! A positive home test!