Baby found after being misdiagnosed

Have you had a misdiagosed miscarriage? Please share your stories here.

Misdiagnosed Blighted ovum

Postby nurseervin » Wed Apr 23, 2008 9:15 pm

Hi Everyone,
I was so happy when I found this site. It gave me hope. I felt in my spirit that I needed to share my story to encourage somebody else. On April 4, 2008, I received a confirmation from my OBGYN that I was pregnant-4wks. He was able to see the gestational sac. My doc had me coming in for weekly to bi-weekly appt's to assure everything was ok. At 5wks, he became alarmed because all he could see was the gestational sac. He began telling me about the possibility of a blighted ovum. I'm a registered nurse but I hadn't heard of a blighted ovum before in my life. I went and googled different sites to find out what it really was. I was devastated. When I went back to my OB at 6wks 2 days, my HCG levels were at the 14, 000 level but he told me it was not doubling and with that HCG level, he should be able to see something. He began to assess my knowledge of treatment options. I informed him that I knew he could do a D & C or use some drugs but I opted for the natural route. He told me that he saw blighted ovums in his practice at least 3-4 times a week. I thought that was odd given the fact that this is not a very common thing. I became angry and felt that God had forsaken me because I had prayed so diligently regarding this blessing. After, I got over the initial shock, I began to ask God for forgiveness and asked that not "my will" but his will be done. I had such a peace in my heart and a feeling that my baby was yet alive. I went in to my next OB appt because he wanted to see if "the process" had began. I waited on my OB 45 minutes and God just ministered to my soul and he told me that my baby was fine. Whem my doc made it in, I was all smiles. He must have thought I was the happiest blighted ovum case he had ever seen. I asked him to give me a range of how long "the process" w