No heartbeat at 7w2d MISDIAGNOSED!

Have you had a misdiagosed miscarriage? Please share your stories here.

No heartbeat at 7w2d MISDIAGNOSED!

Postby fabcrab » Thu Oct 15, 2015 6:52 pm

I wanted to share my story because I can't begin to express how grateful I am of this message board. On Oct 12 (7w2d), I had a transvaginal ultrasound at my obgyn's office and they could not find a heartbeat. I was first seen by a midwife I have never met before who asked if I had struggled with fertility and I said yes and she rudely stated "I'm a midwife I only deal with low risk pregnancies" and proceeded to get the nurse practitioner I normally see. When the CNP showed up she also could not get a heartbeat from the ultrasound. She then told me that the pregnancy is 100% not viable especially since I am so confident with my dates due to me having to take Femara and a trigger shot. She stated I had three options: 1) natural miscarriage- which can prolong the horrible experience for weeks 2) shots or pills which may cause hemorrhaging 3) D&C which is highly recommended in and out procedure that only really takes 5 minutes. She also stated that miscarriages are generally due to a genetic abnormality and most likely the fetus had "downs". I was panicking and basically signed the paperwork for the D&C and had an appointment scheduled for 24 hours later. I felt that she was nothing more than a D&C sales person.